YOU ARE HERE: Facts and Resources » Higher Education in Denmark » Danish University Education

Danish University Education

The eight Danish universities are research-intensive institutions offering research-based study programmes in all three cycles up to and including PhD level.

The bachelor degree (BSc/BA) is awarded after 180 ECTS and qualifies for a professional career and further studies at second cycle level. Most students choose to continue in the candidatus programme (MSc/MA) of 120 ECTS. They usually include one or two of the major fields of study of the bachelor programme. Independent research activities and a master's thesis of 30 ECTS are required.

The candidatus programmes qualify students for a professional career and for scientific work. The PhD degree is obtained after 180 ECTS and consists of research, participation in research courses, teaching and public defence of a thesis.

In Denmark, the term ‘higher education’ also comprises   university colleges and academies of professional higher education. Programmes offered by these institutions are not research-based, but have a strong focus on professional practice and combine theoretical studies with work placements.

Denmark was a signatory to the Bologna Declaration in 1999 and has achieved most of the objectives set out in the declaration: Among other things Denmark has implemented the three-cycle structure, and all Danish higher education institutions use the European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System (ECTS) for measuring study activities.

In Denmark, all new and existing higher education programmes are accredited according to international standards, and a national accreditation system was established in 2007. Study programmes at Danish universities are accredited by the operator ACE Denmark. The role of ACE Denmark is to ensure and document the quality and relevance of Danish university education by assessing study programmes.

Useful links:

Comments on content: 
Revised 2013.10.17